Total Pageviews

Let me send you cool Reviews!

Contributors

I blog at Blogadda!

The Book Club Member

The Book Club Blog Tours

Rate me at Blogadda!

Popular Posts

Rishikesh's bookshelf: currently-reading

Siddhartha
4 of 5 stars
tagged: currently-reading
Letters to a Young Poet
4 of 5 stars
tagged: currently-reading
Gitanjali
0 of 5 stars
tagged: currently-reading
Heart of Darkness
0 of 5 stars
tagged: currently-reading

goodreads.com
Powered by Blogger.
Thursday, 28 March 2019
                        The Code of Manavas by Arpit Bakshi


Book name- The Code of Manavas
Author name- Arpit Bakshi
Publication name- Rupa Publications
Published Year- 2018
Pages- 285
Genre- Fiction

Synopsis

Book one of the Maha Vishnu Trilogy, The Code of Manavas, is set some two million years past ad 2050, when earth as we know it ceased to exist and so did mankind. A new race, the Manavas, now exists on Bhoomi, the erstwhile Earth, which is divided into two cities—Madhavpur and Ayudhpur. In the quiet and peaceful city of Madhavpur, a reclusive Krishna is busy with an immense task. He has to prepare a new abode for the Manavas before an impending apocalypse destroys them. He knows something that nobody else does—the Manavas are running out of time faster than they can imagine and there are no inhabitable planets to escape to. To make matters worse, there is someone in Madhavpur who wants to destroy Krishna and subjugate each Manava. The Manavas, it seems, are doomed. Yet Krishna knows there is a slim chance of survival for the Manavas, although there is a huge price to be paid for it. Will the various factions of the Manavas unite for the greater good? Will Krishna, who saved them during the turn of the last Yuga, be able to save them now? What will be the price to pay? Enter the mythical world of Maha Vishnu and get swept up in a fast-paced suspenseful narrative.


My Review

The first book of the Maha Vishnu Trilogy, The Code of Manavas is a promising book with perfect combination of science and mythology.
The book begins with Krishna who is all set to set existence of new race of, Manava. The new race is set in future when Kali-yug was over and with limited survivors, Krishna is setting up a new secure land, Bhoomi in the galaxy.
The new world is way more technologically advanced and superior to their ancestors. The author has pulled of many names associated with Lord Vishnu and portrayed them in such a powerful, intellectual and tech- savy manner. 
Book is fast paced and would not let readers to leave their place. Author has not revealed much in the first instalment, which is a bonus point that the readers would be hooked to know what's more lies in the story ahead.
Narration was amazing, the book cover was so beautiful and the title, the apt one.
Really enjoyed reading the balance between the mythology ane science.
I would not specifically recommend it but this book is something which we can be read by any genre readers. Overall, the book was so refreshing, fascinating and a page Turner.

Overall rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Reviewed by Aditi Srivastava
Saturday, 23 March 2019
GHOOMOPHIRO BY HIMADRI GARG
Book Name- Ghoomophiro
Author Name- Himadri Garg
Publication- Kalamos Literary Services LLP
Published Year- 2019
Genre- Fiction
Page Count- 195
Blurb
Full of photographs, souvenirs and trinkets from around the world, the Kumar house was nothing short of a mini-museum of the flavours from the world. There were preserve-me glow balls from places that no longer existed- like the great barrier reef or the Hawaiian Islands, along with memory-cubes, that contained snap-shot holograms of places that the residents had been to and wanted to revisit virtually anytime they wanted. Happy photographs of family members, still framed, instead of the now common digital screen-shots that kept changing as per calendar events, awards and certificates for varied accomplishments, both professional and personal and signs of a well-read occupant were all visible. The house, to say the least, had character and spoke for itself, even though, ironically, most of its members did not as much.
Ghoomophiro is the story of two sisters Nitika and Kritika and their exciting much-awaited trip with their family. Both of them are travelers and during this trip, family discusses everything about their travel tales.
With its vivid descriptions, uplifting adventures, Ghoomophiro is a journey that everyone can live with and can relate to and can inspire anyone to pack the bags to explore.
My Review
Ghoomophiro is a travel account of two sister's, Nikita and Kritika who loves travelling even after hitting fifties. The book is fast paced in future where we are equipped with AI. Book begins with sister's going concern about their children and their addiction towards gadgets. The two planned way out to break them from this monotonous lifestyle.
The book consists of various travel accounts from the author's life. The places she has visited and her thrilling experience to great places.
The book excessively long, less paragraph break somewhere makes the book less appealing. On contrary I enjoyed description of places mentioned in the book.
The portion I enjoyed how the two wanderlust sister's come together with whole family to celebrate their travel journey.
The book cover could have been better, the narration was slow whereas writing style and language was decent.
The book can be picked on Sunday's. The overall the book was decent.
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐
Reviewed by Aditi Srivastava
Friday, 22 March 2019
              TRAPPED By RAJAT CHAKRABORTY


Book Name: Trapped
Author Name: Rajat Chakraborty
Publication: Author's Ink Publication
Published Year: 2019
Genre: Self Help
Pages: 181



                                                         Book Synopsis


Difficulties and hurdles are inevitable. Minor setbacks, major failures, degrees of struggle vary from person to person - no two are alike. When you find yourself questioning your strengths, that’s when you are faced with one major question - “Do I put my head down and try harder, do I seek help, or do I concede that I’m not meant to be doing this?” This book is dedicated to the bright young minds who are confused or in doubt about taking the next step. It helps increase your self-awareness, and find the key to unlocking your true potential.


                                                         My Review

With so many motivational speakers, online journals and already published some good self help material it's really hard to come across book by a newbie and you realise
he really taught you something is a tough job. Trapped by Rajat Chakraborty is one such book. The book has left me content, hooked with the seat corner until I finished it. It's book where you can easily go back and reinvent yourself. A healing guide which would not make you wonder why you lacked rather than where and in this moment you can kick start your dreams.

Author has very articulately defined each and every chapter. Each chapter has inputs and if one always stick to any one of the page he/she can really do well. The amount of energy and time invested in book is clearly reflected, author has mentioned throughout the book various sites for personality tests, careers enriching blogs, famous articles, his own journey and what not.
Without giving a second that the book has actually made into my worth book read of 2019.

Moving on to the title, really very apt. The book cover is sober and catchy; clearly defines one's state of mind in this hustle bustle world. With least grammatical errors reader would enjoy journey of so many living great men, how discovering yourself can change your life.
I would recommend everyone to read this book. Book will guide you, stay yo your side even when you have multiple dimensions to explore.

PS: Glad I get the opportunity to read this book.

My rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Reviewed by Aditi Srivastava
Thursday, 31 January 2019

                     Between You and Me by Atul Khanna

Year Published: 2018
Published by: Bloomsbury India
Pages: 291
Genre: Non- fiction
Format: Paperback



                                          Book Synopsis

The governance models based on social, constitutional, economic and administrative structure were conceptualised in the nineteenth century or earlier and were executed in the twentieth century. India is our setting, but the problem is universal. This book challenges the existing structures and provokes the youth to think out of the box to combat such challenges.


                                             My Review

Between You and Me dwells into the societal problem which is prevailing from long before the country’s foundation is laid. Author has stressed about how great leaders shaped the country but still they too had loop holes and the promises made by them were not fulfilled. The promises to citizen passed from one term of the political party to the other.

The narrative style is quiet good, it’s like the book is actually doing the conversation which will make the readers hook to the book. Language is simple and it will not push the readers to hunch over the dictionary. Another great thing about the book is, it is well researched and lot of political, social and economic topic has touched upto great extent.

Author has expressed his hopes for better India and how we the people and constitution can join hands for country upliftment. The book is divided into three parts. The part one explains the leaders and their roles from time to time. Part two explains how the government model operates in our country, the economic statues and how one can contribute in the country by taking certain responsibilities. Last, part three tells how the goals are still far-fetched and why do we need a constitution which is not protected by law but also the law makers, politically active members and the society.

Overall the book was quick and a good read. I would rate the book 4/5 stars.

Reviewed by Aditi Srivastava




Friday, 19 October 2018

Book: Tarikshir:The Awakening
Author: Khayaal Patel
Publisher: Westland
Published on: 20/08/2018

Tarikshir a story of battles, power, mysterious murders and a strong potion which when revealed can cause havoc to human existence.

Story beings with ongoing battle between britishers and Princely Kingdom of Rajasthan. The mysterious assassination and mass murders of the civilians, leaves the Prince Rudra baffled and agitated.

He voes to reach the roots of all the miseries of his life and kingdom, the path ultimately lead him to discover the powers of Tarikshir.

The plot is so gripping that one cannot leave it in between. Narrations are fast paced with decent notch of writing style and minor editing errors.

Overall the book is good enough to invest your time.

Tuesday, 11 September 2018

It's been time since I last read a reinterpretation of a mythological story. Especially one built from The Mahabharata, one of the grandest epics of the world, the greatest—of course—and a personal favourite too. So, when I got a review copy of The Fisher Queen’s Dynasty by Kavita Kané, I was thrilled. I'd heard about the author around my connections and heard about her other works too; and I appreciated the way she was pulling up and putting down the characters which were not given much light in original storyline, and women characters above that. With this excitement, and the “About the Author” section in the beginning, I built up hope to find within this, a great, grand narrative. And man was I wrong? No, it isn't that bad as you think it is, but it isn't that good (with one extra o) either.


So first let's start with the cover. They say—though it's a cliché —don’t judge a book by it's cover. And rightly so. The cover is the most beautiful thing about the book. Followed closely by the font, then the plot, then the narrative, and then I'm descending order goes setting, characters, and dialogues, among other constituents of the story. The cover features a lady. Ornamented. There's a lot of Golden and blue in it. Pointing out half of the story right there. Politics (it's where you get that much gold), and the fishes make the blue clear. And then there's an ornament on her wrist, which has a fish in it. The cover is attractive, and you might pick it, if you see it somewhere around. Out of seer curiosity. Then you will turn it over. Like a good reader does, to read the blurb. “Excellent!” You will think, turn the book back, open it, smell, and then start. Only if it were that simple.

The title is apt. Matches in a way with her other titles. Gives a woman character and adds a feminine role of a queen. People acquaint with the grand epic, will guess the character at once: who's it gonna be?

Down to the index. Chapters are not numbered, though every chapter is named. The only problem I had with the “contents” section was that it had too many ‘Thes’. In fact, except the “Prologue”, “Epilogue”, and the last chapter, every heading carries a ‘The’ in it. Though it's well justified. Everything was too singular in the epic storyline, and so even a small action becomes grand when it gets in the affinity of the grand narrative, but still, there are some things that become a grass blade in your eyes, and this was. No offence to the author!

I won't go much into the story, dialogues, or the plot, to make this review spoiler free. But I'll try to be just, and give you quite a clear insight in the book, so that you can, well, get your money's worth. Or your expectations’.

First comes the plot. Decent. The story has been well thought over. The authoress has taken liberty and invented some brilliant scenes. And at times, when you are not busy getting disappointed, you'll quite like it, and see the scenes getting enacted (not like a movie, but like a school play), but anyway, you'll like it. Though it could have been much better.

The thing about the story is a bit complicated. The authoress rushes things at time, and ridiculously slows at others. But most of the times, it's decent. You'll not be much away from a bestseller vibe, when you're going through it. Though I'd like to add a bit here that Ganga is a goddess, a river goddess, not a nymph. Nymph is a guardian, and a Greek concept. Don't mix your mythologies, unless you've a good reason. Vasus are gods, with small g, for only three gods in Indian mythology deserve to be given a capital G address.

But what irks and troubles me, as a reader and a reviewer, is the language, which, I am too sorry to say, but it really, sucks, at times though, not always. It lacks the experience which the authoress should have shown by this time. It's easy, the language, I mean, but there are faults crawling like maggots all over it. At times words stand alone, when the meaning intended gets only partly delivered by the character's actions. She could have built a momentum in the “Prologue” itself, but she quite rushed the things there itself. It felt like a reel fast forwarding itself. Though the scene could've still worked, but whatever lustre a good dialogue could've blessed it with, was snatched away with the carelessness imparted in this section. A story is not always about a good story, at times, all it takes a bad voice in the character’s mouth to turn off the reader. There are just so many adverbs in voice tags. You don't get that feeling when you roll off those lines from your mouth, but the authoress commands you to think those lines to be persuading or pleading or threatening. There are a lot of punctuation and grammatical errors as well. Every character seems to have the same voice. There's a lot of exaggeration done, or it's just that the characters have gone into a daily soap mode and become overreacting. People reason when asked a question, but dialogues seem more mechanic, than subjective. And it seems as it the writer is forcing the characters to speak in a way, and that makes them dead. There are words which should've been replaced with better options, e.g., the word ‘bankrupt’ could've been very well replaced with ‘broke’, because then there were no banks and thus this word doesn't looks good on chronology. While conversing, we generally use contractions. When one reads the dialogues silently, it won't bother them, but once the story becomes alive, and you start speaking the dialogues aloud to listen them while you imagine yourself in, you lose it. And yes, the word HOT has been repeated so many times, that I had to look back to confirm that I'm not reading something from Fifty Shades series.

The action is good. But a rage repressed doesn't make you mutter, the tang of malice, or sarcasm, would still show in your speech, which was, well, absent. The characters lack swagger at times. Concept of Femme Fatalé, though introduced, is not built up much. Satyavati in the beginning few scenes seems to fall for the lecherous man, I.e., a sage, just like that. And even after all that hard work (which would've made her muscles rip) she succumbed to his lust (beg was another bad selection, she was obviously getting raped).

Characters are either one dimensional or two dimensional, and still paper dolls. They fail to act as humans because of the reasons stated above.

I'll give this story 3 stars, if that sort of rating is asked from me. Though, a piece of written literature can only be judged comparatively, and this one is, for sure, better than some of the books on the stall, but there are a lot of books to top this. And, there are a lot of options in mytho-fantasy section, which I could be reading instead of this one.

All this book lacks is a attention, and is wanting of a rewriting. That set. It can work better, otherwise, it will remain on the shelves, as just another book, and a waste of paper.

This book has been published by Westland Publications Ltd., is 325 pages long, and the price tag says it to cost ₹350.

You can read the blurb of this book on goodreads and get this on amazon.in.

This copy was given to me by Writersmelon, in exchange of an honest review.


Wednesday, 22 August 2018


                 NOT WORTH LIVNG FOR BY SHREYAN LAHA


Published Year- 2018
Published by- Half Baked Beans Publishing
Pages- 128
Genre- Fiction
Format- Paperback/Kindle



Synopsis

Ishita Singh, a student of an esteemed college in Mumbai was living a normal life along with her group of friends, a caring senior and scarily enough, a creep who stalked her.

Shweta wakes up in an unknown planet with an advanced civilisation and sets out with Alexander Ishutin, a former spy of the RSV to discover about the far future.

Underlying the lives of these two girls in different worlds, there lies a dark secret. Will they ever come across this dark secret or will it be so chilling that it won't be worth living for? Prepare yourselves for a psyched, dystopian adventure. Not for the faint hearted.


My Review


Not Worth Living For is novel which is set in two different universe, first the earth and other in Isthenope. Isthenope is a place far away from the earth, a place which technologically so advance and upgraded, the atmosphere is so different from the earth that migrants from the earth have to take special kind of herbs which help them survive.

We follow two parallel stories here, one life on Isthenope and other mischievous happenings/ assault on the earth. Having being already a big fan of fantasy genre the book didn’t disappoints me either. It was enthralling and full of hidden layers of truth and mystery.

Story begins with how Shweta find herself on an alienated land of Isthenope and really have no idea about how and why she was brought up. Sooner for her everything starts making sense and she started liking her new habitat but she was overwhelmed with various emotions when she thinks of the earth.  On contrary, a different story runs on the Earth, students getting knocked down by some strange sickness and sleep but as soon as they gain consciousness another line of crime build up.

The plot has various twists and turns and they would leave readers flabbergasted whereas for me the most amazing thing to read about was the life at Isthenope, their culture, their natural habitat and the sky of the region.

Talking about the book title and the cover that at the first place they do become a reason to read this book. Storyline was decent and minimum grammatical/editing errors makes it more smooth the book and its pace. I would like to recommend it to any fiction/fantasy lover to pick this book.

Rating-🌟🌟🌟🌟


Reviewed by Aditi Srivastava