Total Pageviews

Let me send you cool Reviews!

Contributors

I blog at Blogadda!

The Book Club Member

The Book Club Blog Tours

Rate me at Blogadda!

Popular Posts

Rishikesh's bookshelf: currently-reading

Siddhartha
4 of 5 stars
tagged: currently-reading
Letters to a Young Poet
4 of 5 stars
tagged: currently-reading
Gitanjali
0 of 5 stars
tagged: currently-reading
Heart of Darkness
0 of 5 stars
tagged: currently-reading

goodreads.com
Powered by Blogger.
Monday, 7 November 2016

Title: Ashwamedha, The Game Of Power
Writer: Aparna Sinha
Publisher: Shristi Publishers
Genre: Political Thriller
No. Of pages: 224 pages
Average reading time: 3 and 1/2 hours
Rating: 4/5
My Take:
Book Title and Cover- Cover and title both are intriguing and provides us, the readers, a subtle hint of the contents within. Background image is captivating and the fonts are clearly readable. Blurb is catchy and apt.
Language- Language used is simple, though topped with a few grammatical errors.
Narration- The flow is good. The quotes and poetry pieces used are artistic, and the author deserves an applaud for using right elements at right places.
Characters- Characters are relatable. Every character has got his own space. And the character details are great.
Theme- Though the story is a political thriller but it does have toppings of love and friendship on its political crust.
Plot- Though the plot is a cliché, but the way it's been told is unique, and this makes the book a page turner. The author had told the stories of Ashwin Jamwal and Hades simultaneously showcasing her art of storytelling. Through the twists and turns in the plot authoress had spiced up a page turner. The climax is good and satisfying.
If you love thrillers, then this must be in your to read list. You'll get something worth your time and money.
Reviewed by: Satyam

Thursday, 27 October 2016
The Last Relic Of Love by Chentanya Kapoor


Year Published : 2016
Publication : Vishwa Hindu Sahitya Parishad
Author:  ChentanyaKapoor
Genre: Romance/Fiction
Pages :104
Format : Paperback



                                                             Book Synopsis

Zahir, a ruler with a vicious heart started a hateful era of war. In this hateful era Farhan and Amber two lost orphans began their pursuit for love and freedom. Will unexpected encounter with Marineth and sabrina bring their pursuit to an end? Or will the shackles of hate wither the flower of love?


                                                            My Review

Let me begin with something amusing about the book which will catch attention as soon as your flip the cover. When the book arrived I almost thought the book must be written by someone who’s in twenty’s; as soon as I read about author I realized he’s just in class eleventh( youngest writer book I have read and reviewed on my blog) so without delaying I completed the book in a single setting.

The Last Relic of Love is a story about post war which drifted the landmasses and civilians in 2050 but in all these turmoil love keeps the few lives alive. The book dwells into where world in spite of modernity turned into a war zone and once again blood fills the drains, dark clouds witnessed the horrifying sight.

The book cover goes with the storyline but I found the title bit misleading. Cover which reflects the dawn after a dread night where as title depicts the lost and found relationship though the story does have romance part yet I feel the title could have been better.

Story begins with the war time and end up on a love note.  In spite of living and surviving in the ruthless world of future post war the characters somewhere meet their soulmates where as somewhere they loose. Apart from the story I found the poems incredibly attractive.

Language of the book was simple and readable but I strongly feel there’s scope of improvement in future.

The book which was a light read till the end but on the other side the grammatical errors and the editing errors creates a hindrances in the flow of book.

I would rate the book 2.5/5 stars, I am looking forward to read more further writing project of the  author and considering the facts I mentioned above, author would take my review as an encouragement instead of criticism. I hope the next book will definitely blow mine and readers mind.

Reviewed by Aditi Srivastava



Friday, 23 September 2016
Title: Love Bi The Way

Author: Bhaavna Arora

Publisher: Penguin Random House

Published on: 2 Sept., 2016

Genre: Romance

Format available: Ebook (Kindle)/ Paperback



Blurb
Rihana is a painter who is trying to find inspiration in love. Zara is a businesswoman trying to make a niche for her company in a male-dominated world. Rihana is fire, Zara is ice; Rihana is openly sensual, while Zara is more cautious with her heart—they are opposites that attract. They are different people bound together by their house—‘Cupid’—and their pet golden retriever, Tiger. 

As both of them navigate their fulfilling careers and try to leave behind troubled pasts, they find solace in each other. But Tiger’s not the only male in their lives. Rihana finds herself a string of sexy men, while Zara emerges out of her shell and meets an actual prince who sweeps her off her feet. But can these relationships last? And what road will they take when love happens bi the way?


My take:
Love Bi The Way, as the title suggests, is a story of love, love where gender forms no boundaries.

Title: 'Love Bi The Way', the title suits the story. And well describes the plots. In easy words, it reflects the story very much, and reader knows right from beginning what he is about to witness inside.

Cover: The cover is catchy. The girl dressed in black is clear on the red background. White and c;ear fonts make the title and the name of the author readable. A male, and a female hand on her back, further goes with the title. 

Plot: Well woven! Least chances of finding a loop hole. Once, you will turn the first page, the story will make a grip on you and will tempt you to go for ' just one page more'.

Characters: Well justified! Rihana and Zara, their personal fears, their journeys are well written. Even the character of Tiger, the dog is worth praising. The secondary characters have also been taken care of!

Writing Style: Easy to read. The author had done a great job here. The story, even though it contains the things which are considered as taboo in our society, is crisp. You will feel the things, while going on. Imagery is well done as well as the details and descriptions. At many points, you will see the scenes like a movie in your mind.

Climax: You know the climax from the beginning. Yet you will be surprised at the way it ends. Further, the story contains many stories within which further drives the climax into something more beautiful.

Entertainment Quotient: The book is entertaining. While the cover and the title may mislead you in getting the image that book might be erotic though it isn't. It isn't a regular romance either.

Rating:  4/5  This is a must read.

Recommendations: Anyone who can read, can read this book. And they will, like me, be amazed by the book, its plot, its story and fall in love with its characters. You can get the book in your leading stores or get it straight from amazon.in. Kindle edition is also available.

About the author:
Dr. Bhavna Arora is a new-generation writer who is an avid learner from life. She is a young enthusiast who has two MBA degrees and a Doctorate from Pittsford University in Leadership to her credit.
A philanthropist at heart, she has been sponsoring an underprivileged boy's education. She also works closely with an institute for special children.
You can visit her athttp://www.bhaavna.com
Write to her at writer@bhaavna.com

Reviewed by Satyam ( https://www.facebook.com/authorsatyam)

Saturday, 10 September 2016

 The Colour of Love: Trumpets and bugles, there was music all over... by Jagdish Joghee

Year Published: 2016
Publisher: Notionpress.com
Pages: 155
Format: Paperback
Genre: Romance/Fiction


                                                              




                                                                       Book Synopsis

Sarfaraz is brought up with a good value system by his devoted parents. With time, curiosity and adolescent growth pangs take him through many experiences. His first brush with girls starts with a friend, and slowly meanders into casual flirtatious affairs with girls at college. 


All through it, he realises that none of them have his undying, true love. A time comes when he realises who he truly loves, and in the midst of it all, he handles brutal enmity and takes on vile characters that misbehave with his friends. 


Sarfaraz's grows up in Coimbatore when there occur a series of bomb blasts. His identity is called in question, as his status as a Muslim makes people see him as an enemy. He loses something precious in the blasts and leaves to Sharjah, only for life to find him and surprise him.


                                                                       My Review

Let me sum it up in three words- fresh, perfectly stringed and above par description of places and events.
The Colour of Love by Jagdish Joghee is a story which revolves around protagonist named Sarfaraz and his life. Sarfaraz who hails from middle class, born and brought by Muslim parents, he too inculcated strong values from his parents. Sarfaraz when hit his college he created canvas of memories, some turned out to be fun while few as a nightmare.

The title of the book goes with the story, the cover could have been better. Whereas the book was mixture of teen romance and a thrilling one.

Narration- Narration of the book was fast paced keeping the storyline together. Nowhere I felt being astray from the story, the book was tempting to be completed in a single sitting.

Language- Being the second novel by Author, he kept the promise of surprising his readers; the language was simply beautiful and really fresh. A positive punch.

Characters I enjoyed the most

Sarfaraz- Sarfaraz being protagonist keep it’s reader hooked. Boy who might not be boy next door but made girls turn on heels with his impeccable gesture and way of persuation. Sarfzraz, who keep seeking love in beauties but then end up being infatuation and when he realized his love; it was too late to meet the ends but then his life surprise him.

Megha – Megha who one the other side born and brought up in an affluent family was just contrast of Sarfaraz, even they’re religion differs but she was different unlike other spoil rich brat. Megha was a down to earth girl and who kept protecting her friend Sarfaraz .

Rest all characters were justified and enjoyable.

Portions which I enjoyed the most

The book comprises many segments from a middle class boy life to the impact of political powers, from newbie crushes to intense feeling called love which is felt once and stayed forever.

I thoroughly enjoyed from the being the way Author has described a nuclear Muslim family who lead a life like a Spartan and morals with all righteous upbringing and thought school.

Other portion which moved me when Author folds the story to college life, while flipping the pages my memories were even flashing back. College crushes, hustle- bustle, the fest celebration and friendship for lifetime; all these perfectly described.

Author has even mentioned the major gap between religions(Hindu and Muslim) but it diminishes by love and humanity.  Book kept me hooked on a seat till last page, the suspense part was very well kept and written. Trust me, I don’t read the book but I lived.

Negative Punch

1.       Book cover could have been better.

Book Recommendation-  Book is strongly recommended to those who believe in love, to those wants to cherish college-hood and it’s memories and to people who wants to read on friendship. The Colour of Love is compact of all these elements.

Overall Rating I would rate The Colour of Love 4/5 stars  for being the gripping story with perfect story telling art. Book has entered to my favorite book list.

Reviewed by Aditi Srivastava



Thursday, 8 September 2016
In Love and Free by Jagdish Joghee

Year Published: First Published in 2015
Publisher: Notionpress.com
Pages: 108
Format: Paperback
Genre: Romance/Fiction




                                                                  Book Synopsis

Shruthi has everything going in her life with great education, incredible romance, a wonderful husband, and two adorable kids. There is plenty of laughter, joy, and love in the cosy nest that Shruthi has carefully built.

All is well till that fateful Diwali day when passion gets the better of reason. One momentary lapse threatens to uproot the entire foundation of her beautiful life. The stakes are too high as Shruthi runs the risk of being abandoned by her husband and losing her children too. 
And there is no one to blame but herself.

Caught in a cesspool of blackmail, ransom, revenge and remorse, Shruthi is on the brink of collapse. She can run but cannot hide.


                                                                     My Review

Have you been in a fix, whom to choose between two people; one who’s is for forever and other who provide your transient happiness yet that short lived happiness matters to you. Let’s say you don’t prefer to choose anyone specific between those person yet you make choice staying with both the person.

In Love and Free is a story of Shruti, who is madly in love with her husband and her married life. Story dwells with contemporary world where we often find people making choices and compromises at the same time, insecurity which leads to discovery of some other relations.

Shruti story is no different she thought first it was wrong falling for other man but she give in. And then her life change.

Narration- Narration is fast paced and enjoyable. It was eye pleasing the book was entirely written in girl’s point of view. Author has perfectly nestled the suspense till the end, which will make it’s reader hooked and complete it in a one go.

Language- Book language is simple and readable.

Characters I enjoyed the most

Shruti- Shruti being protagonist, keeps me hook till the last page. Shruti who hails from an affluent family, blue stocking through out her education period, a passionate beloved, a lovable mother , wife and daughter-in-law. Story begins with hunky dory, Shruti’s perfect life depicting her education, her supporting family and amazing married life with her beloved husband and cute little kids. But as we say nothing last forever, even in Shruti’s life things changed quickly as she discovered she had fallen for other male. At a point she wants to live both the lives but life took toil on her. A strong built character and most influential.

Madhan- Madhan Shruti’s husband is kinda guy which every girl desires or dreamt of. Madhan who was constantly involve in his business but he kept Shruti or kids distant from his site, he kept on struggling hard just to provide the best life they deserve.

Portions which I enjoyed the most

Never surrender yourself to the situation. You have that courage to mend the odds. I thoroughly enjoyed the way Shruti stood for herself and she finally gained everything back. A motivating segment of the book.

The other portion which completely moved me how Shruti’s dad stood by her side, he accept his daughter the way she is and taught her valuable lessons.

‘Everything happens for a reason’ so was Shruti’s life. You learn things from failure too.

Negative Punch

1.Author could have worked more creatively with the language.
2. Initial chapters could have been described in a better way.

Book Recommendation- In Love and Free is a light read. Anyone could read it, at the end the book will surely provide you few lessons on life.

Overall Rating I would rate In Love and Free 3.5/5 stars. Looking forward to read more from you Sir.

Reviewed by Aditi Srivastava


Wednesday, 7 September 2016
The Monsoon Murders by Karan Parmanandka

Year Published: First Published in 2015
Publisher: Srishti Publications and Distributors
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback
Genre: Crime/Fiction

                                                    
                                                     Book Synopsis

Dishonorably dismissed from the police force, Roy has been
condemned to a life of obscurity. The twist in the tale comes with the
murder of a well-known man in the Mumbai finance circle. Roy is hired by
the self made tycoon Jayesh Kumar to probe the case. While Roy is
excited at the chance at redemption, he fails to understand why he
became the chosen one.


What looks at first an open and shut case, quite rapidly evolves into a tale
of deceit and revenge. Roy must take care not to fall for the suspect, and
not to see things as they appear. As his personal life gets tied to the
success of the case, the question becomes, not whether he can have
faith in strangers, but whether he can trust his friends.

Inspired from real life cases, The Monsoon Murders is a
fast-paced detective novel, taking the Indian crime fiction genre to
mysterious depths.

                                                     My Review

The Monsoon Murders as the title itself reflect that book consists of murders and the suspect keeping on rolling as new characters keep on introducing in the book. Roy, a terminated police officer was hired to solve the murder mystery of leading financial company Fox Captial ltd. , but was not clear why only he was hired for solving such a high profile case. The book on revealing so many hidden facts that they will blow your mind because Author has wonderfully played with his writing skills. This book is a page turned and is not guessing at all.  The book title and the cover is very unique and apt, they both goes with the story.

Narration- The narration of the book was fast paced and keeps your mind engrossed to know more and the question WHO? A brisk read and imagination level of Author is above par. Enjoyable!!!

Language – The language of the book have has amazed me. The topic is very well researched. Positive Punch!!! Author has made be hooked to the book till the last page, even for a second I don’t felt like keeping the book down.

Characters I enjoyed the most

Roy Konte-  Roy  who was an ex-police officer, a forensic investigator and a loner all his life. Being the main lead of the story Roy kept on surprising us, somewhere with his command on his subject and somewhere as a person with delicate heart who kept on saving the suspect who was not responsible for the murders.

Shantanu- Police Commissioner, who preach his duty and hard nutshell to crack.  Shantanu is like a police officer which we look for in our lives. He not only workshiped his work but also have a sensible mind and loves to respect individual.

Jayesh Kumar- The string on which the book revolves. Jayesh, an old fellow in his mid sixties and a tycoon of financial company, a close friend of victim and a mind player.

Portions which I enjoyed the most

Book consists of so many refreshing segments that I am running short of words whom to point out. For a moment I thought yes I knew who the suspect is but again when I flip the page I discovered a lot of mystery is still nestled.

But I personally loved the way Author research a lot on the topic so deeply. Once the protagonist Roy was describing to other Police Official how the accused was murdered. That portion totally left me flabbergasted the lines and the scenes will roll on my mind and I was actually living with the book.

Other portion which completely took me aback was when the book reached to its ultimate climax.  We all are victim of someone’s bonafide deed or indirect harm they cause to us, and then a new self immerged from within. For a moment we realize that nothing like humanity exist and then we take the laws in our hands which affect much life. So were the ending pages of book. A wail of man who lost his everything back and again but took avenge of his agony.

Negative Punch –1.Need a bit editing

2. Character description could have been better.

Book Recommendation- Whoever would read this book will be amazed and content. I cannot ask only crime fiction lovers to read this book but it is recommended to everyone. Those who have not read genre of this kind will develop reading more after this book.

Overall RatingI would be delighted to rate The Monsoon Murders 4.5/5 stars for keeping the promise of entertaining its reader. It’s a thrilled read.

Reviewed by Aditi Srivastava


Thursday, 1 September 2016
Title: When Life Turns Turtle
Author: Raj Supe
Pages: 467
Publisher: Leadstart Publishing
Genre: Spiritual Fiction


Rating:
Cover: 4/5
Plot: 4/5
Writing Style: 4/5
Presentation: 4/5
Overall: 4/5

Book Blurb: 

Indraneel is a young and successful film-maker, an alumnus of Massachusetts Institute of Technology. In an intoxicating relationship with a young and beautiful aspiring actress, his next film is being hailed as a blockbuster. Things couldn’t be going any better. Suddenly, without warning, Indraneel’s life overturns. Hurt floods his heart and soul, seemingly beyond redemption…

He arrives in Rishikesh, a mountain town by the river. The artist within him, as well as the bruised individual, senses the timeless love and solace emanating from the Ganga and the Himalayas, but innumerable whys continue to invade his thoughts. Introduced to Shaman, a bookseller with a difference, and a ‘closet guru’, the deeply sceptical Indraneel is introduced to a bewilderingly new, yet strangely magnetic world of spiritual seeking.

As the seasons pass, as pass they will…Indraneel gradually opens his mind to what he finds around him, delving step by step into the truth about spirituality and human existence. A measure of peace finally descends on his tormented mind.

But the world beckons yet again and Indraneel stands at a crossroads once more. He is asked to make a difficult choice. Will he submit to the strong current of spirituality now flowing within him? Does a spiritual life mean giving up everything else? Can he ever go back to the world? Will he find the happiness he so desperately seeks?

Review:
Cover - 
Lively and spiritual. The bucket full of water, hibiscus flowers, mountains, shadows of trees and wooden chappals on a background of saffron, the cover is serene in itself. The title is catchy, and easily readable.

Contents -
PLOT: Plot is well paced and it keeps you hooked. Furthermore, it is an interesting read, not boring and stretched like other books in the genre.

CHARACTERS: I'd rather appreciate the writer for his vivid characterisation. Indraneel Barua is a successful film-maker, yet he leads an unhappy life. An ugly divorce followed by a heart breaking break-up leaves him devastated. His childhood friend, Arunodaya, suggests him to go on a trip to Rishikesh. And this is where his 'Life Turns Turtle'. With strong secondary characters like Shaman, this book is entertaining yet resourceful.

My Take-
The book draws a line between spirituality and religion. With vivid description of the places in Rishikesh, the book will take you to a ride of joys and sorrows and enlightenment. The power of Ganga, the acquaintance of holy (read spiritual) people and holiness of Kumbh, are described scientifically. This book will deepen your knowledge of spirituality.
It talks about the philosophy of life telling there is more of it than money, name and fame. It describes how amidst of nature and its powers, one realizes the true meaning of life.
 The book gives the message that all is not lost and that if we surrender ourselves to the greater power, all will be well.

I'd recommend this book to everyone for it has in it, the capability to touch your heart and reform your heart and soul.

You can buy the book right here http://www.amazon.in/When-Life-Turns-Turtle-bollywood/dp/9352016157

This book has been published by Leadstart Publishing.
If you are a new author and want to get published, send in your manuscripts at submissions@leadstartcorp.com